Mario Kempes of Argentina celebrates scoring a goal

FIFA World Cup™ in review: 1978 Argentina

1978 FIFA World Cup Argentina

The ball: Tango Durlast


The winner: Argentina

The runners-up: Holland

The difference maker: Mario Kempes excelled playing in front of his countrymen leading the way with a tournament-best six goals, including two in the final against Holland. He opened the scoring in the Buenos Aires decider in the 37th minute and, in extra time, went on to dribble through the Dutch defense, strike, collect a rebound and trickle the ball over the line for the historic winner.

The lasting memory: The summer of 1978 is recalled for the introduction of triads to the World Cup™ ball and Argentina’s first tournament triumph. La Albiceleste became the second straight host nation to capture the crown after felling the Dutch in the final. They became the first country to win the trophy after failing to find victory in two matches: a first group stage loss against Italy and a second group stage scoreless draw with Brazil.