PSV Clinch Fourth Straight Eredivisie Crown

PSV Eindhoven won a fourth successive Eredivisie title with a 1-0 victory at Vitesse Arnhem on Sunday.

A point would have been enough for PSV to secure their 21st Dutch title, but former Vitesse striker Danko Lazovic struck two minutes after half-time to secure victory over his old club.

The hosts’ misery was compounded when Sebastien Sansoni was sent off in the 77th minute.

Tension was running high during the match as PSV knew that defeat would spell the end of their title dreams if Ajax beat lowly Heracles Almelo.

Vitesse should have taken the lead in the eighth minute as Santi Kolk made a great run through the PSV defence before finding himself one-on-one with PSV goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes but he blazed over the bar from 10 yards out.

As news began to filter through that Ajax were winning comfortably, PSV began to up the pressure.

The visitors almost took the lead just before half-time as a corner was sent into a crowded penalty area.

Ibrahim Afellay managed to get on to the end of it but there were too many bodies between him and goal and his shot brushed past the right upright.

But the Eredivisie leaders got the goal they needed two minutes after the break.

Timmy Simons threaded the ball through to Lazovic and the Serb, finding himself one-on-one with Vitesse keeper Piet Velthuizen, calmly placed the ball into the back of the net to send the PSV fans into raptures.

Vitesse tried in vain to equalise with their best opportunity coming on the hour mark as Kolk embarrassingly blazed over from five yards out.

And PSV knew the title was all but wrapped up when Sansoni was sent off 13 minutes from time for a second bookable offence after tackling Simons from behind.